MEK_Stills_1.jpg
01

The Film

My story is certainly not unique. On the contrary, I have simply done what many people in similar situations would consider, but have not done - whether it be due to fear of not being able to offer their children a decent life or being excluded from the dominant society. But when childless couples today increasingly rely on the help of sperm banks – a service that is still denied for lesbian families – when more and more families with two mothers or fathers profess their way of life and we increasingly discuss surrogacy, which, although not yet in federal legislation, has long since become a reality in Switzerland, then it is time to adopt the concept of an evolved version of the nuclear family as an equally adequate form of parenthood. Because regardless of what life plan, each of us claims for ourselves, they are all part of a diverse reality and should therefore be able to be lived openly and legally.

That neither my history nor ours can be changed is a fact. This is why the aim of this film is an attentive reflection on the many questions and contradictions that arise, both with regard to my decision to become a mother and the decision to film my story. When I ask myself today what my daughter will think of her origins, but also of this film in the foreseeable future, I can only answer this to the extent that I, as a mother, openly deal with our family story in a way that is appropriate to my daughter’s age and level of maturity, and that I, as a filmmaker, had to make this film partly in order to fulfill my responsibility to her.

Marina Belobrovaja

MEK_Stills_2.jpg
02

The crew

Written & directed by
Marina Belobrovaja
DOP
Gabriela Betschart, Kaleo La Belle, Christoph Walther,

Sergei Freedman & Marina Belobrovaja
Sound
Bruce Wuilloud & Benoit Frech
Editing & dramaturgy
Tania Stöcklin
Original music
Trixa Arnold & Ilja Komarov
Sound mix & sounddesign
Guido Keller
Picture design
Patrick Lindenmaier
Produced by
Gabriela Bussmann | GoldenEggProduction
in coproduction with
SRF | SRG SSR
with the support of
Zurich Film Foundation
Cinéforom & Loterie Romande
Suissimage cultural foundation

Volkart Foundation
Ernst Göhner Foundation
Suisa Foundation

Distribution Switzerland
Valerio Bonadei | Filmbüro
World sales
Jean-Michel Trèves | JMT Films

Partner.png
 
MEK_Stills_4.jpg
03

The motivations

My story is certainly not unique. On the contrary, I have simply done what many people in similar situations would consider, but have not done - whether it be due to fear of not being able to offer their children a decent life or being excluded from the dominant society. But when childless couples today increasingly rely on the help of sperm banks – a service that is still denied for lesbian families – when more and more families with two mothers or fathers profess their way of life and we increasingly discuss surrogacy, which, although not yet in federal legislation, has long since become a reality in Switzerland, then it is time to adopt the concept of an evolved version of the nuclear family as an equally adequate form of parenthood. Because regardless of what life plan, each of us claims for ourselves, they are all part of a diverse reality and should therefore be able to be lived openly and legally.

That neither my history nor ours can be changed is a fact. This is why the aim of this film is an attentive reflection on the many questions and contradictions that arise, both with regard to my decision to become a mother and the decision to film my story. When I ask myself today what my daughter will think of her origins, but also of this film in the foreseeable future, I can only answer this to the extent that I, as a mother, openly deal with our family story in a way that is appropriate to my daughter’s age and level of maturity, and that I, as a filmmaker, had to make this film partly in order to fulfill my responsibility to her.

Marina Belobrovaja

MEK_Stills_1.jpg
03

Note d’intention

Mon histoire n’est certes pas unique. Bien au contraire, j’ai simplement fait ce que beaucoup de personnes dans des situations similaires envisageraient, mais n’osent pas - que ce soit par peur de ne pas pouvoir offrir à leurs enfants une vie décente ou par peur d’être exclues de la société dominante. Mais si les couples sans enfant aujourd’hui demandent de plus en plus l’aide des banques de sperme - dont l'accessibilité est cependant toujours refusée aux familles lesbiennes; si de plus en plus de familles avec deux mères ou pères affirment leur mode de vie et que la maternité de substitution, qui, bien qu’elle ne figure pas encore dans la législation fédérale, est depuis longtemps une réalité suisse, il est dès lors temps de prendre congé du concept de la famille nucléaire comme seul modèle de parentalité. Car, quel que soit le projet de vie que chacun.e de nous revendique pour lui.elle-même, tous font partie d’une réalité diverse et devraient donc pouvoir être vécus ouvertement et légalement.

Ni mon histoire ni la nôtre ne peuvent être changées, c’est un fait. C’est pourquoi le but de ce film est une réflexion attentive faite de nombreuses questions et contradictions qui se posent, tant en ce qui concerne ma décision de devenir mère que la décision de filmer mon histoire. À la question de savoir ce que ma fille va penser de ses origines, mais aussi de ce film, je peux répondre qu’en tant que mère, je fais état ouvertement de l’histoire de notre famille d’une manière adaptée à l’âge et au niveau de maturité de ma fille, et qu’en tant que cinéaste, j’ai dû faire ce film en partie pour remplir ma responsabilité envers elle.

Marina Belobrovaja

MEK_Stills_2.jpg
02

L'équipe

Écriture & réalisation
Marina Belobrovaja
Image
Gabriela Betschart, Kaleo La Belle, Christoph Walther,

Sergei Freedman et Marina Belobrovaja
Son
Bruce Wuilloud et Benoit Frech
Montage & dramaturgie
Tania Stöcklin
Musique originale
Trixa Arnold et Ilja Komarov
Mixage & sounddesign

Guido Keller
Picture design
Patrick Lindenmaier
Produit par
Gabriela Bussmann | GoldenEggProduction
en coproduction avec
SRF | SRG SSR
avec le soutien de
Zürcher Filmstiftung
Cinéforom & Loterie Romande
Fonds culturel Suissimage

Fondation Volkart
Fondation Ernst Göhner
Fondation Suisa

Distribution Suisse
Valerio Bonadei | Filmbüro
Ventes mondiales
Jean-Michel Trèves | Films JMT

Partner.png
 
MEK_Stills_4.jpg
03

Note d’intention

Mon histoire n’est certes pas unique. Bien au contraire, j’ai simplement fait ce que beaucoup de personnes dans des situations similaires envisageraient, mais n’osent pas - que ce soit par peur de ne pas pouvoir offrir à leurs enfants une vie décente ou par peur d’être exclues de la société dominante. Mais si les couples sans enfant aujourd’hui demandent de plus en plus l’aide des banques de sperme - dont l'accessibilité est cependant toujours refusée aux familles lesbiennes; si de plus en plus de familles avec deux mères ou pères affirment leur mode de vie et que la maternité de substitution, qui, bien qu’elle ne figure pas encore dans la législation fédérale, est depuis longtemps une réalité suisse, il est dès lors temps de prendre congé du concept de la famille nucléaire comme seul modèle de parentalité. Car, quel que soit le projet de vie que chacun.e de nous revendique pour lui.elle-même, tous font partie d’une réalité diverse et devraient donc pouvoir être vécus ouvertement et légalement.

Ni mon histoire ni la nôtre ne peuvent être changées, c’est un fait. C’est pourquoi le but de ce film est une réflexion attentive faite de nombreuses questions et contradictions qui se posent, tant en ce qui concerne ma décision de devenir mère que la décision de filmer mon histoire. À la question de savoir ce que ma fille va penser de ses origines, mais aussi de ce film, je peux répondre qu’en tant que mère, je fais état ouvertement de l’histoire de notre famille d’une manière adaptée à l’âge et au niveau de maturité de ma fille, et qu’en tant que cinéaste, j’ai dû faire ce film en partie pour remplir ma responsabilité envers elle.

Marina Belobrovaja